Seek his face

I was reading Psalm 105 this morning.

Verse 4 says: “Look to the LORD and his strength; seek his face always.” Wow. Always?

seek_his_face_alwaysI reflected on what this means, and realise in any given set of circumstances, so often I tend to seek his hand; what he can give, what I think I ‘need’ to live in, succeed or overcome those circumstances.

This is OK, God loves us and wants us to ask Him for things; but primarily I should be seeking his face.

What is his face? I think it’s his character, his will, his identity, his values, his righteousness, his glory in any given situation.

So, if I find myself in a sticky one, instead of asking for prayers to get out of it, or for the circumstances to change, my first port of call should be to “look to the Lord for strength and seek his face” in the situation. Ask myself: “What is God’s will here? How can I seek His righteousness? Where can I see His character? How can I live according to His values (love, kindness etc)? How might His glory be shown?”

I’m reminded of what Paul says in Philippians 4:11, that he’d been able “to be content whatever the circumstances”; our goal is to be at peace in whatever our ‘now’ might turn out to be because we purposefully seek God in it. And if we seek, we will find Him.

Therein lies the challenge; to seek!

Leave a Reply

