The Thrill of the Chaste: my review on Goodreads

The Thrill of the Chaste: Finding Fulfillment While Keeping Your Clothes OnThe Thrill of the Chaste: Finding Fulfillment While Keeping Your Clothes On by Dawn Eden
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I gave it 3 out of 5, but hovered over 4! I so very nearly ‘really liked it’.

From the get-go, I loved Eden’s style and humour and passion and earthiness as she writes about her experiences of breaking away from the shallowness of the ‘Sex and the City’ culture.

What a relief to me on my own similar journey to find an author I can really connect with on the basis that they write from the position of someone who, like me, has actually experienced that lifestyle and it left them wanting. Not some fuddy-duddy pure and innocent who’s never known what it’s like to be with a guy.

So from that standpoint, I think it’s a wonderfully brave, warming and encouraging book for people (Christian women especially) who are trying to recover and restore themselves sexually after life on the other side of the fence.

My main (probably only) issue with the book was that singleness and celibacy is portrayed as a state of waiting for a husband, not of value in and of itself. I appreciate that’s Eden’s journey and destination, and I suspect many women would relate to her in that respect. However that’s where she and I part ways.

For many people, including myself, celibacy is is not about ‘hanging on until….’ it’s a spiritual discipline to be learned with its own inherent value and blessings. Whether or not I end up in a relationship or married is not within my search beam, however for Eden it seems the sole focus of her journey.

Overall, I’d recommend the book; simply for it’s honesty and warmth in dealing with a subject that is generally considered taboo in church!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

